Monday, Monday (la, la, la-la-la-la…)

My kids sometimes crack me up! When C comes over, I laugh more than any other time. And my others also make me laugh – at least when I quit worrying long enough to see the humor.

My sister-in-law reminded me of a story from a family gathering a couple of years ago. We were all sitting around, when my brother asked C about her new job. (Mind you, she had been caught squarely in the middle of the 2008 recession – was laid off in January 2009, found an interim job, then finally found the job she has now). Anyway, after pondering his question, she said, “Well, it’s not as much fun as I thought it was going to be.”

Of course, all the cynical adults laughed at that, and said, “Well, that’s why they call it “work” – rather than “play”.” And so, of course, the phrase, “It’s not as much fun as I thought it was going to be” entered the family lexicon.

But, really, it’s something to think about. I read a quote in the paper the other – can’t remember the story of what the guy does – but he basically said something like “If you love your work, you add five days to your weekend.”

Wow! Is that how you feel? Do you love your work that much? I don’t know about you, but I’m not there yet! But it makes me think. What would I be doing for “work” that would feel like “play”?

Have you found it yet? How did you start? By sharing you can make my Monday happy. Will you share?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Monday, Monday (la, la, la-la-la-la…)

  1. Ruxi says:

    I used to. I loved my job so much, I could never stay away more than a few days. I used to wake up everyday around 5 am, couldn’t wait to get to my research lab. Why? A combination of passion, the possibility of discovering something amazing and good, to help people, learning everyday, giving your best and being apreciated, working with amazing people, having the best boss you can imagine. I doubt I will ever have that again, but who knows, maybe I will…

Leave a Reply

