Not as much fun as I thought it would be….

Several years ago, after our oldest daughter graduated from college, our family was gathered to celebrate the Christmas holiday. One evening after dinner, we were all sitting around and my brother asked my daughter how her new job was going. He was catching up with her and making small talk.

After a short pause, she said,
“Well, it’s not as much fun as I thought it would be.”

I don’t know why, but we all cracked up! It was as if she was stating every Millenial’s view of the working world – this transition into the working world wasn’t exactly what she had envisioned. We all told her that’s why they call it work, rather than all of us going to play.

Anyway, it sort of has become a family “mantra” – often said in a very “tongue-in-cheek” way.

I’ve had a very busy several weeks, with many late nights at the office and many early mornings. It has been draining. It’s not helped at all by the economic news these days – Greek and European default prospects, American job losses, economic strain, political wrangling and more. But it’s gotten me thinking…..what can I do to restore the joy to each day? What can I do to make it more fun like I thought it would be?

What about you – how do you adjust your attitude when things are tough? How do you make it more fun than you thought it would be?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Not as much fun as I thought it would be….

  1. Elizabeth Williams says:

    When things are difficult, I try to associate myself with other positive people, like you! I remind myself of all the successful things I have done and wonderful people I have met along the way. And I set out looking for the next person I can add to this list. Business Development/Sales can be stressful at times, but building a network of associates/friends is so rewarding and FUN! Enjoy your blog, Karen!

  2. karenwatson says:

    Thanks, Elizabeth! Let’s get together soon! Karen

  3. Diane says:

    Lucky me, my job IS as much fun as I thought it would be. And don’t you think it’s all about perspective? Let’s face it, I’m a glorified receptionist/payroll clerk/bookkeeper who works in a 4 person office for barely minimum wage. Not exactly on the fast track career path but it’s enough and I’m happy. Maybe SS/Med/Fed withholding are the deductions that show up on our paychecks and there is an invisible deduction for “I want to go to work everyday?”

Leave a Reply

