Learn to admire without the need to acquire

So I read this on a blog recently (Newlywed Diaries – yes, I know….I’ve been married 21 years, but bear with me now….I got to this blog from another blog…Haven and Home and like the father in “My Big Fat Greek Wedding” says, “So, there you go! Anyway, I digress!)

Do you ever find that you fall victim to the big, green-eyed monster envy? It is insidious. Some companies’ marketing approach is built on it. They show you stuff that you don’t have and work very hard to make you feel like to have to have it and you become very envious of those that do. Or, you go to someone’s lovely home and rather than simply admiring the lovely setting, the nugget of jealousy creeps in and you become envious of the owner of this house. Come on, admit it, you’ve been there. Maybe it came over you when you got an email from someone and you saw at the bottom, “Sent from my iPad2” and you realized you don’t have an iPad2 or even an iPad …..hmmmmm, that envy creeps in.

Well, the saying “Learn to admire without the need to acquire” seems to apply. I am going to work diligently to adopt this mantra. I really like it. It gets right to the heart of the matter. It doesn’t even send the guilt that “Count your blessings” sometimes does, at least for me. It simply suggests that we admire, without feeling that we have to do anything to try to match up.

I’m going to try it. What about you? What opens the door to your green monster of envy? How do you keep him at bay?

(I’m writing this upon hearing the news that Apple icon and master marketer, Steve Jobs, has died. What a legacy he built. RIP, Mr. Jobs. We love the products you brought to us.)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Learn to admire without the need to acquire

  1. Diane says:

    That’s hitting the nail on the head. It’s so easy to fall victim to wanting more, even when we have more than enough. We have to be conscious of “conspicuous consumption.” Our economy is built on it.
    I have a reason-ability test lately. Is there a guy in China who is laughing or wondering why anyone would need this product? It especially comes to mind when I think of decor, in particular, Hobby Lobby–do I really need another cute pumpkin to set around my house for fall? Not likely.
    Or you could adopt this scheme I read about once. A couple decided that for any durable good they purchased, they had to donate TWO items they already owned. It wasn’t too hard the first year but they REALLY had to start thinking about what they were willing to give up the second year of the project.
    I’m not ready for that yet!

  2. Diane says:

    Diane says that we can begin the donations from the garage and all the crap I have accumulated! I am a little packrat – easy to stash away in a big garage. Sadly Jake has received this gene from me. Oh well! We are debating the acquisition of the dumpster or can we remove the debris in several trips??!

  3. Diane says:

    That was Dan by the way…

Leave a Reply

