Calm and Bright or Filled with Fright?

Source:TradHome

So, the holiday season is in full swing. How does it make you feel? Are you giddy with excitement, feeling calm and bright or do you have that sort of hyperventilating-I-can’t-believe-it’s-almost-here-and-I’ve-got-so-much-to-do feeling?

I seem to vascillate between these emotions several times each day.

I read several daily blogs that remind me about the true meaning of the advent season, and the anticipation that we should feel about celebrating the birth of our saviour, but, honestly, sometimes that sentiment gets lost in Christmasville – which is what many retail stores feel like to me!

Anyway, I find that if I work on tricks that stimulate the senses, it sometimes helps me to focus (I think this is how stimulants work on the brain of a child with ADD – maybe there is a genetic link……hmmmmm).

Sight. looking at and really seeing the lights on the Chritmas tree. We have these paper glasses (sort of like 3-D glasses) that split the light into stars – they are fun to use!

Smell. Cookies baking, pine, even the cold crisp air outside in the morning can help to wake up my mind.

Touch. Feeling my cat’s fur, touching velvet, even the rough feeling of pinecones or burlap can be stimulating.

Hearing. Christmas carols – even the ones that you tire of hearing can sometimes wake me up.

Taste. Ooooh, this is one of my favorites. All those Christmas yummies – home baked goods, but even clementine oranges that are abundant this time of year and oh so sweet.

What about you? What do you do to discover true Christmas spirit?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

